Homemade marshmallows

For years I have been wanting to make marshmallows, I did have a go few years back with disastrous results, kitchen covered in icing sugar and a sticky gooey mess, took ages to clean up. I came very close to making them several times but the memory of the huge mess put me off. This didn’t stop me researching different recipes, many of the use corn syrup which is difficult to find in the UK. But I found some recipes on Pinterest which didn’t use corn syrup. A few days ago after work I decided to have a go, I got straight into the kitchen before I talked myself out of making the soft, fluffy yumminess aka marshmallows.
The recipe was very straight forward and I had all the ingredients in my store cupboard. I followed the recipe and surprise, surprise it worked. I left it to set and went for my hairdresser’s appointment with strict instructions to my men not to touch!
By the time I got home the marshmallows was set and ready to cut. It took a while for me to peel the marshmallow block from the tin, I used a mixture of corn flour and icing sugar to dust them. Wasn’t that bad for a first go although the worktop and I were covered in white. Even the men approved!
So I decides to tweak the recipe and make raspberry marshmallows, I had bought a foodie flavours raspberry flavouring last year at the good food show (http://www.bbcgoodfoodshow.com ) (http://www.foodieflavours.com) that I had been waiting to try and added some sugar flair ruby red food colouring paste (http://www.sugarflair.com)


http://lifefromthegroundup.us/2013/12/homemade-marshmallows-no-corn-syrup

The instructions are long because Iwanted to make it easy to follow

Homemade Marshmallows
Ingredients
• 2 Tbsp. gelatine
• 1/2 cup cold water
• 2 cups sugar
• 1/2 cup cold water
• 1 tsp real vanilla extract or ½ tsp foodie raspberry flavouring
• 1 cup icing sugar
• 1/2 cup corn flour/corn starch
Instructions
• Mix the corn flour and icing sugar and sieve
• Lightly grease a 9” square cake tin, dust with the sugar and corn flour mix.
• Mix the gelatine and 1/2 cup cold water in a bowl and leave for 5 min.
• In a saucepan mix the sugar and 1/2 cup water, heat whiles stirring until sugar has dissolved and bring to the boil.
• Pour in the gelatine mixture and bring to a boil, stirring to ensure gelatine has dissolved.
• Take off the heat, let the mixture cool for a few minutes.
• Add the flavouring and colour.
• Using a freestanding or hand held electric whisk, beat for 10-12 mins till double in volume and looking fluffy.
• Pour into your square pan, and set aside until cool.
• Dust a chopping board with sugar and corn flour mix.
• Remove the marshmallow from the pan, run a knife around the edges you may need to help it out using your fingers.
• Cut the marshmallow into squares using a large knife. It’s easier if you lightly coat knife with oil.
• Once you have cut the squares, coat them in the sugar and corn flour mix. Shaking off any excess.
• Store the marshmallows, layered between sheets of wax or parchment paper, in an airtight container.

One thought on “Homemade marshmallows

Leave a Reply

