Falafel

Falafel

img_2639
I was first introduced to falafel by my uncle many years ago. He was responsible for introducing many different health food to our family. some really great thing others I don’t even want to think about. Falafel were one of my favourite, Crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle. This was a time before google so finding a recipe was difficult, I did attempt using the boxed mixes and recipes using canned chick peas without any success. Then I forgot about the falafel that was until a visit to Dubai. I had the one of the best falafel sandwich ever during a desert safari. I can still taste hot crunchy falafel wrapped in the flatbread. I love food combination like sweet and salty, hot and cold, sweet and spicy, soft and crunchy. Now back to the falafel, as soon as we came back I was on google searching for a perfect recipe. I found a few that didn’t work out or taste right. Then I came across a recipe that looked like it would work. What can I say! I was back there in the desert eating falafel. Over time I have played around with the original recipe to make it taste more authentic.
Falafel originate in the Middle East. A deep fried ball made from chick peas or fava beans, served wrapped in flatbread or inside a pitta bread with salads pickled vegetables drizzled with tahini sauces.
Tahini sesame seed paste is available in most Middle Eastern or Turkish supermarkets

 

FALAFEL
Ingredients
• 500g dried chick peas
• 1 medium onion quartered
• 2-3 cloves garlic
• 2-3 slices stale bread
• 1/4 cup parsley
• 2 tsp salt
• 3/4 tsp black pepper
• 2 tsp cumin powder
• 2 tsp ground coriander
• 1 tsp red hot pepper flakes
• 4 tbs flour
• 2 tsp baking powder
• 1/4 cup water
• vegetable oil for deep frying
Directions
Place chick peas in a large bowl, cover with water and soak overnight.

Drain peas. Add onion, garlic, bread and parsley, process in food processor don’t grind to fine leave a little grainy. Add spices, flour, baking powder and water. Mix well.

Use water it to moisten your hands and form balls of the chick pea mixture the size of walnuts, then flatten a bit.

Deep fry in oil at medium high heat until golden brown. Serve piping hot.
Arrange in halved pita or flat bread, topped with salad, pickled vegetables and tahini sauce
TAHINI SAUCE:
2/3 c. tahini (sesame paste)
3-4 tbsp. water
Juice of 2 lemons
Salt, freshly ground pepper
2 cloves garlic, crushed
Mix the tahini to a smooth paste with the water, then blend in the lemon juice and other ingredients.

4 thoughts on “Falafel

  1. The best falafel, I’ve ever had was on Edgware Road, at a Lebanese restaurants. It can be hit or miss with falafel. So tell us more about Dubai… And safari’s.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

